CLOSE
PERA ENSEMBLE

ABOUT US

“A beguiling essence born of resounding gemstones” (Gmünder Tagespost)

The Pera Ensemble, lauded by critics as “a discerning blend of flavors, a fertile and prolific interweaving of soundscapes” (Mitteldeutsche Zeitung), is named after a district in Istanbul, which for the last 2000 years has stood as a crucible of myriad cultures and religions. This is also reflected in the ensemble’s composition, which sees the internationally renowned specialists of historically informed performance from Europe coming together with the elite of Turkish art music. Moreover, this ensemble is not solely defined by a baroque Turkish fashion for the modern audience, but weaves music from the most disparate cultural circles into a new and universal sound. Through this new aesthetic paradigm, one is treated to a variety of astonishing and moving concert experiences. In this context, Early Music is no longer seen as a cultural relic, but awakens one thing first and foremost: “Emotions! And it does this in so poignant a manner, that it can hardly be put into words.” (Opernnetz).

Pera was founded in 2005 by musicians Mehmet Cemal Yeşilçay and İhsan Özer, both natives of Istanbul, and founding members of the Ensemble Sarband. They have toured throughout the world in collaboration with ensembles such as Hesperion XXI, Concerto Köln, Emre Ensemble and the Ferahfeza Ensemble, and have made a name for themselves in illustrious concert halls and at international festivals. Their performances have included venues such as Händel Festspiele Halle, Schleswig Holstein Music Festival, Festtage Alter Musik Innsbruck, Rheingau Musikfestival, Berliner Philharmonie, Kölner Philharmonie, Konzerthaus Dortmund, CRR Istanbul and many others. Pera works in close collaboration with Berlin Classics/Edel Kultur, and has so far produced recordings such as “Baroque oriental”, “Café – Orient meets Occident” as well as the children’s CD “Kaffee für den König” (Coffee for the King). Other releases include the cross-cultural Opera pastiche “Amor oriental” (Deutsche Harmonia Mundi) as well as “Les Fêtes du Serailles” (Ludi Musici).
For “Baroque oriental”, Pera received an Echo Klassik award in the category of “Klassik ohne Grenzen” (Classical Music Without Boundaries).

about

“Under the direction of Mehmet Cemal Yesilçay, the sound palette created by the Pera Ensemble needed no translation. The early European melodies and the mysterious Oriental were merged into an idyllic tonal fairytale. Over the tremendously rich and sophisticated instrumentals there rose the exquisite voice of soprano Francesca Lombardi Mazzulli and the up-and-coming countertenor Valer Barna-Sabadus.” (Tiroler Tageszeitung)

Pera Ensemble

PROGRAMS

CONCERTS

CONTACT

AddressSinem Yesilcay Geschäftsführerin

Mehmet C. Yesilcay musikalischer Leiter

Schwanseestr. 64-D
81549 München

Phone+ 49 89 813 06 719
+ 49 89 26 67 51 (FAX)
pe-symbol

Send us a message

PLEASE FILL IN YOUR CONTACT DETAILS

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Recent Tweets

March, 18

Music to the One God 2017

München, Gasteig. Philharmonie
000
00
00
00
CLOSE
Campra-Carneval de Venise 2 Campra-Carneval de Venise Campra-Carneval de Venise Haendel-Se teco Lully-Passacaille Monteverdi-Lidia spina Sartorio-Quando voglio Uccelini-Bergamasca Caccini-Odi euterpe Falconieri-Ciaccona Monteverdi-Si dolce Strozzi-Che si puo fare Sanz-Canarios Fux-Janitschara

CLOSE
PERA ENSEMBLE

ÜBER UNS

“Eine betörende Essenz aus klingenden Edelsteinen“ (Gmünder Tagespost)

Türkische und Europäische Instrumente, gespielt von Meistern Ihres Faches – ein universeller Klang der wie aus einer Seele von verschiedenen Musikern und verschiedenen Kulturen erklingt.
Da die Seele aus der selben Quelle seine Inspiration erhält, ist Musik das Klagen dieser Seelen verschiedener Individuen – wie Wasser, das aus der selben Quelle entsprießt….

Das Pera Ensemble, dem die Kritik begeistert »eine raffinierte Mischung der Aromen, eine wechselseitige Durchdringung und Bereicherung der Klangwelten« (Mitteldeutsche Zeitung) bescheinigt, ist nach einem Istanbuler Stadtteil benannt, der seit rund 2000 Jahren ein Schmelztiegel der Kulturen und Religionen ist. Das spiegelt sich auch in der Besetzung wider, denn im Ensemble treffen international renommierte Spezialisten der historischen Aufführungspraxis aus Europa auf die Elite der türkischen Kunstmusik. Dabei definiert das Ensemble keineswegs nur die barocke Türkenmode für ein Publikum von heute, sondern webt Musik aus unterschiedlichen Kulturkreisen zu einem neuen, universal gültigen Klang. Durch diesen ästhetischen Mehrwert entstehen überraschende, berührende Konzerterlebnisse. Alte Musik wird nicht als musealer Hort begriffen, sondern weckt vor allem eines: »Emotionen! Und dies auf eine kaum zu beschreibende, ergreifende Weise.« (Opernnetz).

Seit Pera 2005 von den aus Istanbul stammenden Musikern Mehmet Cemal Yeşilçay und İhsan Özer, die unter anderem als Gründungsmitglieder von Sarband weltweit konzertierten und mit Ensembles wie Hesperion XXI, Concerto Köln, Emre Ensemble und Ferahfeza Ensemble zusammenarbeiteten, ins Leben gerufen wurde, hat sich die Formation bereits in renommierten Konzertsälen und auf internationalen Festivals einen Namen gemacht. Das belegen Auftritte im Rahmen der Händel Festspiele Halle, des Schleswig Holstein Musikfestivals, der Festtage Alter Musik Innsbruck, dem Rheingau Musikfestival, den Schwetzinger Festspielen, in der Berliner Philharmonie, der Kölner Philharmonie, der Münchener Philharmonie, dem Konzerthaus Dortmund, dem CRR Istanbul, dem Istanbul Festival IKSV und vielen anderen. Pera arbeitet eng mit Berlin Classics/Edel Kultur zusammen, bislang sind die Tonträger »Baroque oriental«, »Café – Orient meets Occident«, »Momenti d’Amore«, »Trialog – Music to the One God« sowie die Kinder-CD »Kaffee für den König« erschienen. Darüber hinaus wurden das interkulturelle Opernpasticcio »Amor oriental« (Deutsche Harmonia Mundi) sowie »Les Fêtes du Serailles« (Ludi Musici) veröffentlicht. »Carneval Oriental« mit l’arte del Mondo bei dem Label Capriccio.

»Mit dem PeraEnsemble aus Istanbul unter der Leitung von Mehmet C. Yeşilçay bedurften die Lautmuster keiner Übersetzung. Die Melodien aus dem alten Europa und das geheimnisvoll Orientalische verdichteten sich zu märchenhaften Klangfabeln. Über dem ungemein reichen, raffiniert bedienten Instrumentarium entfalteten sich die von kostbarer Klangschönheit bestimmten Stimmen der Sopranistin Francesca Lombardi Mazzulli und des aufsteigenden Countertenor-Sterns Valer Barna-Sabadus.» (Tiroler Tageszeitung)

Pera Ensemble

PROGRAMME

Konzerte

KONTAKT

AddressSinem Yesilcay Geschäftsführerin

Mehmet C. Yesilcay musikalischer Leiter

Schwanseestr. 64-D
81549 München

Phone+ 49 89 813 06 719
+ 49 89 26 67 51 (FAX)

Senden Sie uns eine Nachricht

Bitte vollständig ausfüllen

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Recent Tweets

März, 18

Music for the One God 2017

München, Gasteig. Philharmonie
000
00
00
00
CLOSE
Campra-Carneval de Venise 2 Campra-Carneval de Venise Campra-Carneval de Venise Haendel-Se teco Lully-Passacaille Monteverdi-Lidia spina Sartorio-Quando voglio Uccelini-Bergamasca Caccini-Odi euterpe Falconieri-Ciaccona Monteverdi-Si dolce Strozzi-Che si puo fare Sanz-Canarios Fux-Janitschara