singing

Valer Barna-Sabadus was born in 1986 in Arad -(Banat) in Romania and came to Germany as a late emigrant, where he has been living since 1991. He grew up in a family of musicians and received his first musical education (piano, violin) here. At the age of 17 he was accepted at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich because of his special talent and received lessons in singing, voice countertenor with Prof. Gabriele Fuchs from 2004 to 2006.

He has been a full student since Oct. 2006 and is currently in his 7th semester, specializing in concert and opera singing. Besides his successful participation in numerous concerts inside and outside the university, he sang the title role of Rinaldo in Haendel’s opera of the same name in St. Pölten with the baroque ensemble Capella Incognita in 2007 at the age of 21. As a member of the Bavarian Theatre Academy “August Everding”, he has already appeared in several opera productions, including the theatre festival Spielart in the production “Treffen” as an actor and singer, as well as at the Baroque Night Olching as Endimione in G. A. Bernabei’s chamber opera “Diana Amante” and as Puck in Henry Purcell’s Singspiel “The Fairy Queen” as an open air project with the Lower Bavarian Chamber Orchestra.

He also took on the role of the dead Gretchen in Jan Müller- Wieland’s dream scenes “Aventures Faust”(UA) at the reopening of the reactor hall in Munich. In 2009, at the age of 23, he made his debut at the Salzburg Pentecost Festival in the role of Adrasto in Niccolò Jommelli’s “Demofoonte” under the baton of Riccardo Muti and directed by Cesare Lievi with the Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini” as a co-production with the Ravenna Festival and the Opéra National de Paris, and was subsequently named “Artist of the Month” by the world-famous music forum “Musical America”. Immediately afterwards he sang Enea in another Jommelli opera – “Didone abbandonata” – at an open-air concert at Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart with the Klassische Philharmonie Stuttgart under Frieder Bernius and directed by Nelly Danker.

In autumn 2009 he took on the title role in Vivaldi`s opera “Orlando furioso” under the musical direction of Michael Hofstetter and the production of Christof Nel with the Neue Hofkapelle München as a project of the Bayerische Theaterakademie with the Prinzregententheater. Future engagements will take the young countertenor to Schwetzingen for the Mozart Summer 2010, where he will appear in the opera “La clemenza di Tito” as Sesto under Dan Ettinger and directed by Günter Krämer. Furthermore, he will make his debut at Oper Frankfurt in autumn 2010 as Ruggiero in the opera “Orlando furioso” by A. Vivaldi under the musical direction of Günter Krämer. Directed by Andrea Marcon and directed by David Bösch. He will return to this opera in the 2012/13 season in Cavalli`s “La Calisto” in the role of Endimione. Valer Barna-Sabadus has also already made a name for himself as an oratorio/concert singer. He has performed with the Georgian Chamber Orchestra, the Bad Reichenhall Philharmonic, the Hofkapelle Munich and the Banater Philharmonic. On the occasion of the Ingolstadt Organ Days, he made several CD recordings with him: among others as a vocal soloist in the work “Omnia” by R.M.Helmschrott (UA), which will be released by the label Guild. Valer Barna-Sabadus is a scholarship holder of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes.

Gesang

Geboren wurde Valer Barna-Sabadus 1986 in Arad -(Banat) in Rumänien und kam als Spätaussiedler nach Deutschland, wo er sich bereits seit 1991 aufhält. Er ist in einer Musikerfamilie aufgewachsen und erhielt hier seine erste musikalische Ausbildung (Klavier, Geige). Im Alter von 17 Jahren wurde er an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München aufgrund seiner besonderen Begabung aufgenommen und erhielt 2004 – 2006 als Jungstudent Unterricht im Fach Gesang, Stimmlage Countertenor bei Prof. Gabriele Fuchs.

Seit Okt. 2006 ist er Vollstudent und befindet sich zur Zeit im 7. Semester, Fachrichtung Konzertgesang/ Operngesang. Neben der erfolgreichen Mitwirkung in zahlreichen Konzerten inner- und außerhalb der Hochschule, sang er bereits 2007 als 21-jähriger die Titelrolle Rinaldo in Haendel`s gleichnamiger Oper in St. Pölten mit dem Barockensemble Capella Incognita. Als Mitglied der Bayerischen Theaterakademie “August Everding“ war er bereits in mehreren Opernproduktionen zu hören, u.a. bei dem Theaterfestival Spielart in der Produktion “Treffen“ als Schauspieler und Sänger, zudem bei der Barocknacht Olching als Endimione in G. A. Bernabeis Kammeroper “Diana Amante“ und als Puck in Henry Purcell`s Singspiel “The Fairy Queen“ als Open Air – Projekt mit dem Niederbayerischen Kammerorchester.

Außerdem übernahm er bei der Wiedereröffnung der Reaktorhalle in München die Rolle des Toten Gretchen in Jan Müller- Wieland`s Traumszenen “Aventures Faust“(UA). In 2009 debütierte er als 23-jähriger bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen in der Rolle des Adrasto in Niccolò Jommelli`s “Demofoonte“ unter dem Dirigat von Riccardo Muti und der Regie von Cesare Lievi mit dem Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini“ als Koproduktion mit dem Ravenna Festival und der Opéra National de Paris, wobei ihn das weltbekannte Musikforum „Musical America“ anschließend zum “Künstler des Monats“ auszeichnete. Unmittelbar danach sang er in einer weiteren Jommelli Oper – “Didone abbandonata“ – den Enea bei einem Open -Air auf Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart mit der Klassischen Philharmonie Stuttgart unter Frieder Bernius und der Regie von Nelly Danker.

Im Herbst 2009 übernahm er die Titelrolle in Vivaldi`s Oper “Orlando furioso“ unter der musikalischen Leitung von Michael Hofstetter und der Inszenierung von Christof Nel mit der Neuen Hofkapelle München als Projekt der Bayerischen Theaterakademie mit dem Prinzregententheater. Zukünftige Engagements führen den jungen Countertenor nach Schwetzingen zum Mozart- Sommer 2010, wo er in der Oper “La clemenza di Tito“ als Sesto unter Dan Ettinger und der Regie von Günter Krämer erscheinen wird. Des Weiteren debütiert er Herbst 2010 an der Oper Frankfurt als Ruggiero in der Oper “Orlando furioso“ von A. Vivaldi unter der musikl. Leitung von Andrea Marcon und der Regie von David Bösch. An diese Oper wird er in der Spielzeit 2012/13 zurückkehren in Cavalli`s “La Calisto“ in der Rolle des Endimione. Auch als Oratorium/Konzertsänger hat sich Valer Barna-Sabadus bereits einen Namen gemacht: So konzertierte er beispielsweise schon mit dem Georgischen Kammerorchester, den Bad Reichenhaller Philarmonikern, der Hofkapelle München und den Banater Philharmonikern. Anlässlich der Ingolstädter Orgeltage entstanden mit ihm mehrere CD- Aufnahmen: u.a. als Gesangssolist bei dem Werk “Omnia“ von R.M.Helmschrott (UA), die bei dem Label Guild erscheinen wird. Valer Barna-Sabadus ist Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes.