Instrumental – and Vocalmusic 1920-1960 in İstanbul

1923 is the foundation of the Republic of Turkey. The Khalifat and Sultanate are abolished and a parliamentary system of government with Mustafa Kemal Atatürk (1881-1938) at the head is introduced. The Ottoman script is replaced by the Latin letters, the hijab is banned and the country is restructured in the western style. These reforms were very drastic and radically changed Turkey.

At times even traditional Turkish music is banned. But this ban is lifted by great resistance. Thus, under this new climate of change, a new musical style with simpler lyrics and more catchy and popular melodies is created from the 40s onwards. Composers like Sadettin Kaynak, Selahattin Pınar and Rakım Elkutlu write songs for new stars like Nureddin Selçuk, Safiye Ayla and Müzeyen Senar.

Later, in the 50’s, the singer Zeki Müren will displace everyone with his androgynous manner and appearance and put them in the shade. Shellac records can be heard everywhere and bring the new hits into the living room. The state radio station TRT is the forum where the music is broadcast live over the airwaves to the republic. In the new medium of film, the new actors and heroes can be seen on the screen and thus reach a broad mass of admirers. Hollywood fimle are dubbed and Egyptian music films are especially popular with the audience.

Imam Hafiz Sadettin Kaynak composes new music for dozens of films from the Hollywood Orient, Egypt. American cars, Western fashion, cinema and music temples determine the new way of life and the newly won capitalism. The Islamic religion is to be suppressed and the country is to be brought closer to the West. NATO, UN, negotiations on accession to the EU point the way to the West. But not everyone is convinced of this direction. At least this reaction can also be heard in the music. Then, in 1960, the military puts itself in power and overthrows the democratically elected government. Adnan Menderes, the head of state and some ministers are sentenced to death. The end of this golden era.

In the late 60s many foreigners, including Turks, come to Germany as workers. Foreign workers, today referred to as Germans with a migration background, later catch up with their families and become a part of society in Germany. They bring their songs from their homeland with them from their culture. Often these songs remain the only cultural connection, which is preserved and preserved. The first generation of Turks in Germany know almost all songs of this time. One sees it in the fact that many of the amateur choirs still sing these songs today in the 3rd generation. It is not only nostalgia, the people see their life reflected in the lyrics and the memories become awake again.

We would like to bring this highly interesting era in music to the listener with our program AHENK. Memories awaken of this time. To pay tribute to the first generation.

Mehmet C. Yeşilçay-Ud
Hasan Esen-Kemençe, Keman
Volkan Yılmaz-Ney
Serkan Mesut Halili-Kanun
Ozan Pars-Bendir, Def
Yaprak Sayar-Singer

Composers: Sadettin Kaynak, Selahattin Pınar, Lemi Atlı, Yorgo Bacanoz, Sadi Hoşses, Rakım Elkutlu and others

Instrumental-und Vokalmusik 1920-1960 in İstanbul

1923 ist die Staatsgründung der Republik Türkei. Das Khalifat und Sultanat werden abgeschafft und ein parlamentarisches Regierungssystem mit Mustafa Kemal Atatürk (1881-1938) an der Spitze wird eingeführt. Die Osmanische Schrift wird durch die lateinischen Buchstaben ersetzt, der Hijab wird verboten und das Land wird im westlichen Stil umstrukturiert. Diese Reformen sind sehr einschneidend und verändern die Türkei radikal.

Zeitweise wird sogar ebenso traditionelle türkische Musik verboten. Doch wird durch einen großen Widerstand diese Verbot aufgehoben. So entsteht unter diesem neuen Klima der Veränderungen, ab den 40 er Jahren ein neuer Musikstil mit einfacheren Texten und eingängigeren und populären Melodien. Komponisten wie Sadettin Kaynak, Selahattin Pınar und Rakım Elkutlu schreiben Lieder für die neuen Stars wie Münür Nureddin Selçuk, Safiye Ayla und Müzeyen Senar.

Später wird in den 50 er Jahren der Sänger Zeki Müren alle mit seiner androgynen Art und Auftreten verdrängen und in den Schatten stellen. Schellackplatten sind überall zu hören und bringen die neuen Hits in die Wohnzimmer. Die staatliche Radioanstalt TRT ist das Forum, wo die Musik live über den Äther in die Republik verbreitet wird. Im neuen Medium Film sind die neuen Akteuere und Helden auf der Leinwand zu sehen und erreichen somit eine breite Masse an Bewunderern. Hollywood Fimle werden synchronisiert und besonders ägyptische Musikfilme finden beim Publikum gefallen.

Der Imam Hafiz Sadettin Kaynak komponiert neue Musik für dutzende von Filmen aus dem Hollywood Orients, Ägypten. Amerikanische Autos, westliche Mode, Kino und Musiktempel bestimmen den neue Lebensweise und den neu gewonnenen Kapitalismus. Die islamische Religion soll verdrängt werden und das Land an den Westen näher gebracht werden. NATO, UN, Verhandlungen über den Beitritt in die EU weisen die Richtung gen Westen. Aber nicht alle sind von dieser Richtung überzeugt. Zumindest ist diese Reaktion auch in der Musik zu hören. Dann 1960 putscht sich das Militär an die Macht und stürzt die demokratisch gewählte Regierung. Adnan Menderes, der Staatschef und einige Minister werden zum Tode verurteilt. Das Ende dieser Goldenen Ära.

In den späten 60 er Jahren kommen viele Ausländer auch Türken als Arbeitskräfte nach Deutschland . Ausländische Arbeitnehmer, heute als Deutsche mit Migrationshintergrund bezeichnet holen später auch ihre Familien nach und werden ein Teil der Gesellschaft in der BRD. Von ihrer Kultur bringen sie ihre Lieder aus ihrer Heimat mit. Oft bleiben diese Lieder die einzige kulturelle Verbindung und diese wird bewahrt und konserviert. Die erste Generation von Türken in Deutschland kennen nahezu alle Lieder dieser Zeit. Man sieht es darin, das viele der Amateuerchöre heute in der 3. Generation immer noch diese Lieder singen. Es nicht nur Nostalgie, die Menschen sehen ihr Leben in den Texten reflektiert und die Erinnerungen werden wieder wach.

Wir möchten diese hochinteressante Ära in der Musik mit unserem Programm AHENK dem Zuhörer nahebringen. Erinnerungen wecken an diese Zeit. Der ersten Generation unsere Ehre erweisen.

Hasan Esen-Kemençe, Keman
Volkan Yılmaz-Ney
Serkan Mesut Halili-Kanun
Ozan Pars-Bendır, Def

İbrahim Suat Erbay-Muganni

Musik von: Sadettin Kaynak, Selahattin Pınar, Lemi Atlı, Yorgo Bacanoz, Sadi Hoşses, Rakım Elkutlu u.a.